Cranberry Walnut Bread

DSCF4906

My trusted breakfast friend. Sometimes I jealously look at people who have their breakfast figured out. Who eat the same amount of the same thing every morning over years and are happy with it. I seem to only be able to stick with the same breakfast for two, three months if I am lucky. My perfect breakfast consists of fried potatoes and eggs, but honestly, who wants to stink up their apartment with frying smells first thing in the morning? I’m not saying I never do it, but the olfactory nuisance keeps me from making it everyday. Currently, I have found another breakfast option. Breads. Or shall I say, cakes? Cause that’s basically what they are. Sugar, butter, flour, eggs, ta-daa. Best part is, they don’t only work with your morning, but also with your afternoon cup of tea. A true, delicious allrounder. So far, I’ve only made banana bread, and this one, my current favorite. With orange zest and a hint of cinnamon, it heralds the colder, candle-lit times ahead.

I found this recipe on the blog Once Upon A Chef after I had bought a slice of cranberry bread at the coffee shop and decided to make one myself.

For 1 loaf in 9×5” baking pan

1/3 cup orange juice
2 teaspoons grated orange zest, from one orange
2/3 cup buttermilk
6 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
large egg
2 cups all-purpose flour, spooned into measuring cup and leveled-off
1 cup plus 2 tablespoons sugar
3/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1 cup fresh or frozen cranberries, chopped coarse
1/2 cup walnuts

Adjust oven rack to middle position and preheat oven to 375 degrees. Spray bottom of 9 x 5-inch loaf pan with non-stick cooking spray.

In a small bowl, stir together orange juice, orange zest, buttermilk, butter and egg. Set aside.

In a large bowl, whisk together flour, sugar, salt, cinnamon, baking powder and baking soda. Stir liquid ingredients into dry with rubber spatula until just moistened. Gently stir in cranberries and nuts. Do not overmix.

Scrape batter into prepared loaf pan and spread evenly with a rubber spatula. Bake for 20 minutes, then reduce heat to 350 degrees. Continue to bake until golden brown and toothpick inserted into center of loaf comes out clean, about 45 minutes longer. Cool loaf in pan for about 10 minutes, then turn out onto wire rack and cool at least one hour before serving.

One thought on “Cranberry Walnut Bread

  1. Sounds similar to my old, tried and true–(&best-ever) recipe. I like to divide it up into 3 small loaf pans around the holidays…nice Christmas gifts! Date: Thu, 8 Oct 2015 15:56:47 +0000 To: ecb0413@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

