Tangy Chickpea Salad

Chickpea Salad

This salad contains one of my favorite combinations of ingredients: flat-leaf parsley, lemon juice and garlic (also one of my pasta staples, by the way). They build the base for the body of chickpeas and baby spinach (or the pasta, if you find yourself craving carbs). Add some grated parmesan, salt pepper & olive oil, et voilà, a fresh salad for those muggy summer days where you don’t really feel like eating anything heavy (all this with pasta would be the winter version). Karl outed himself as a lover of salad dinners recently, so I indulged his fancy with this one I found in an old Donna Hay cookbook. Once you have all the ingredients she uses which are sometimes a little hard to come by or unusual, her recipes are really great, mostly easy to prepare and always delicious. I used to have three of her cookbooks, all equal favorites, but two fell victim to inexpertly storage on a window sill in winter. (Yes, they got mildewy and I threw them out so as not to have the mildew spread to the other cookbooks which where consequently moved to a more conventional place for keeping books.) Here’s the recipe!

Chickpea Salad Bird's View

for 2-3

800g canned chickpeas
1/3 cup fresh lemon juice
1 garlic clove, pressed
1 bunch flat-leaf parsley, chopped
2 Tbsp olive oil
1 small handful of parmesan
Salt & pepper
2 good handful of baby spinach

Rinse and drain chickpeas.     Put in a bowl and marinade in parsley, lemon juice, garlic, olive oil, salt, pepper & parmesan for at least 30 minutes.     Season to taste, finish up with spinach and serve.

One thought on “Tangy Chickpea Salad

  1. This was excellent! I was trying to think of something to make for dinner that would be quick and easy because I worked until 5:30. On my lunch hour I put everything in a bowl to marinate and it was delicious. I did add cucumbers and cherry tomatoes since I had them in my garden. Thanks for rescuing me from my dinner dilemma!

Leave a Reply

