Old Trees & Pizza Nights

IMG_20150725_102156650_HDR

Today we took our bikes to Chestertown, a small city on the other side of the Bay (Bill Bryson apparently found it to be the perfect archetypical American small town). From there we went on a bike ride to one of the oldest trees in Maryland. This swamp chestnut oak was first mentioned in 1682 and continues to “serve its nation”, by providing clean air I guess.

IMG_20150725_102132413_HDR

We left Annapolis a little later than anticipated – last night we organized a little get-together for our building on the front porch in an effort to get to know the neighbors. One person showed up, and we had a fun night sitting outside and chatting. (One couple that Karl already knew couldn’t make it, but they left a pumpkin pie outside our apartment welcoming me to the neighborhood. We stopped by there this afternoon to say hi – they have the cutest little baby boy. She wants him to grow up speaking German since she spent a year in Germany as an exchange student after high school. I said no problem, I’ll take care of it.) Collectively, Karl and I gathered about twenty mosquito bites last night. I have to remember to use bug spray before I do stuff like that. Anyway, it got a little late and we slept a little longer.

IMG_20150725_102229176_HDR

The tree stands next to a cemetery and church; the church was built in 1692 I believe, so pretty early for the US. My back didn’t object to any of the riding and walking which was good. I’m really glad I went to see the chiropractor and will see him again next week.

IMG_20150725_102330892_HDR

The rest of our Saturday we spent in Annapolis, checking out the antique stores around the corner from our place – there’s a whole little street full of cute (and mostly unaffordable) stores. Oh, and it has a wine & beer store that also sells organic dairy products and is open till 11pm on the weekends. Tonight I darted outside to grab a bottle of wine there, it’s perfect to have a place like that within walking distance – something I didn’t expect to have here. It paired rather well with our First Annapolis Pizza Night (had on a Saturday, instead of the traditional Sunday for logistic reasons – I forgot to soak the mung beans I was planning on cooking). Happy weekend, everyone!

Leave a Reply

