Tuna Melts

Image

The other day I sat in the office (last day at the law firm, by the way) eating the comparatively heavy lunch I brought and fantasizing about dinner. A light green salad maybe, why not with some tuna in it? Karl was on dinner duty, so I texted him my ideas. When I use the German word “Salat” I uuuuusually mean a salad with lettuce in it. Karl didn’t share that connotation, so when I got home from work I was greeted by massive flatbread sandwiches filled with this tuna salad that contained an ingredient I had shunned for years – mayonnaise. Mostly because my Mom didn’t like it and we never had it at home. Not what I had in mind when I ordered salad, but honestly, they were beyond delicious. So the next day we used the leftovers for tuna melts on Karl’s homemade wheat-and-rye bread. Here’s the recipe for that, but you could definitely also enjoy it on its own – served on a light green salad maybe?

serves 4

2 cans tuna
1/2 can artichoke hearts, quartered
1/2 red pepper, finely diced
3/4 cup black olives, cut into rings
1/2 red onion, finely diced
1-2 tbsp parsley, chopped
1 garlic cloved, finely minced
1/2 tbsp oregano, chopped
2 tbsp mayonnaise
1-2 tbsp lemon juice
Salt & pepper

4 slices of your favorite cheese
4 slices of bread at hand
1 green onion, finely sliced

Mix all ingredients in a large bowl, season to taste.     Generously spread on bread     Add a slice of cheese and bake in a 400°F oven until the cheese has melted.     Sprinkle green onion on top and serve.

Leave a Reply

