Hummus Soup

After a week of the finest spring/almost summer weather and with the famous Bonn cherry trees in full bloom (but also with tons of Sahara dust in the air that kind of obscured the sun and made car wash owners have a bunch of A1 days), the skies are clear and cool again, the new green is fresh and crisp, and I had to turn the heat back on. On Sunday the weather was still perfect when I ran the Bonn Marathon with my fabulous team (part of my route had me ran under the cherry trees in Beuel – beautiful!). We finished in a very respectable 139th place (out of around 350 relay teams). It was my first race and definitely not my last one. I had a blast, what with my friends and family cheering me on from the sidelines like a bunch of crazies and the first party at our new house afterwards, inaugurating our new grill and chilling in the backyard. Karl already signed up for a run in the vineyards in June and I hope to be running the half marathon next year. Too much fun.

hummussoup

This is a dish for those cooler days of spring. It’s a take on soup I wasn’t familiar with but which really suits me. Basically, you throw all ingredients in a blender or puree them raw, then bring the whole shebang to a boil and serve. This way, more of the veggies’ nutritients are preserved. Plus the smell of the raw soup is just divine.

serves 4

1 large can chick peas
800ml water
1 carrot
1 red onion
1 garlic clove
1 lemon, its juice
1-2 Tbsp tahin (sesame paste)
1/2 apple
1 tsp vegetable broth
1 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp Garam Masala
Chili
Salt & Pepper
Cilantro or parsley for garnish

Throw all the ingredients in a mixer or a large pot and blend or puree.     Add some water if the consistency seems to thick.     Bring to a boil and simmer for a minute or two.     Serve topped with cilantro or parsley, some carrot and apple cubes and chili.

Leave a Reply

